Skip to content

New Aspect conflict mechanism.

edited July 2013 in New Ideas
Greetings Imperian,

I am Josiph, I am relatively new to Imperian, although I did create a character some time ago who is now 187 years old. I am a long time IRE fan and have recently been persuaded to return to Imperian by a friend. I am returned from a year long break from mudding. Prior to that I played Aetolia for many years and have had an Azudim over there for some time. 

Over my years in playing the IRE muds I have toyed with an idea in my head that I thought would be pretty fun, and tonight I spent a while writing it down. One thing that I think currently is missing from combat here, and in other IREs right now, is an endgame PvP mechanic that has rapid pace, forces movement, and involves small team strategy. In team combat in every IRE, the fights are generally five or more people and the strategy boils down to who can do the most damage, or stun/offbal/offeq. The more people the merrier. I think an area that was built specifically to prevent this, and force small team combat, is an area that would allow for tactics involving movement, strategy, and team coordination. 

The Idea: The Runic Moonstones

Deep beneath the ruins of Caanae, player X stumbles upon a weak spot in the ground and falls through some loose earth into a large cavern. Within this cavern he finds a series of tunnels and caves. As he explores he finds Moonstones scattered throughout a large network of tunnels, each spaced out fairly far away from the other, and embedded into the earth. After investigating one for long enough, player X invites his two buddy aspects along to check it out. When the three approach the Moonstone they sense a great power between them.