Skip to content

Engineering Help for a Newb

In the recent raids, I started learning everything I don't know about my profession.  So:

How do I use the gyrocoptor/sniper ability?  According to the ab file you can sniper anyone in the same area.  When I tried SHOOT <player>, it told me I needed to specify a direction.  If said player is not in a straight line from me, but in the same area, what is the syntax?

Trying to RANDOMSHOT three bullets from a gyrocoptor caused my shot to fall out.  Is this a hint that certain attacks aren't allowed while in the air?

Can I really store my already-filled hollowshot in the Rift and not deal with chemical decay?

Is CREMATE as insta-kill as it sounds?

Finally, this is my first MUD, so some advice on basic ways to make PvP more manageable would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Cremate (and other insta-kills) aren't really instant. They're more channeled-kill. Target needs to stay in the room for X amount of seconds, usually five, and you yourself cannot do anything else. Like, nothing. Doing a channeled kill leaves you pretty vulnerable. There's usually a great deal of 'You should probably vacate' kind of text when you do Cremate. In short, it's more PVP crowd control and less 'Meet the Pyro', or at least that was my experience with it at one point.

Filled hollowshots will decay and they'll become unstable shots, which aren't entirely useless they're just unpredictable. For a good laugh, overload a blunderbuss with unstable shot. (if you can pull that off since rebounding pretty much nullifies the attack so... yeah.)

Sniper was weird and i could never get it to work for me either (it used to have a hilariously OP bug with it though) and being in the air makes you uncomfortably vulnerable to certain attacks as well.