Skip to content

Sect skills in PVP

Took the night to think on it:

After experiencing my first dose of group PK in Imperian with the ToC. I will have to say that having sect skills be so "game-defining" is not something that is good for the health of the game. Being told I need to have sect skill "breach" to effectively pk or escape "kill rooms" is foreign to me. Then being told that I need to join a certain sect to get Breach is even more foreign to me.

I am very new to Imperian, but to sort of neglect PK to sects not wanting to conform to the ways of PK based skills is blah. Basic skills in my opinion should always be at the forefront of combat, while these sect based skills should be more "flavor" or perhaps even making a normal skill better. The only counter to something though? Well that just seems off.

My two cents, feel free to batter it down

Comments

• To be fair, right from the beginning I told you not to join the Sect you went with and to join Flame. Now you know why.
  • edited August 2016
    For better or for worse, sect and city membership are not simply for "flavor", they are pretty much mandatory for PvP as they gain you access to a wide variety of support skills that are class/profession neutral.

I personally dislike the idea of this type of forced membership as it limits options greatly, but that is how the game mechanics are currently set up, and if you don't utilize them, you're at a severe disadvantage.
  • Sects have the ability to custom tailor their miracles around what they want their sect to be. The problem is, most people have no interest in combat and want miracles that help them bash or duplicate commodities.

Finding a sect that fits your playstyle is more important than finding a guild that does.
  • edited August 2016