Skip to content

HTML5 Client Scripting Questions

2»

Comments

• ThorimThorim California
    edited March 2016
    Right now I'm just trying to figure out how to do the basics on the Client, I'm very used to Mudlet but I can't get anything to work except for the super simple aliases and triggers.

I'm trying to figure out how to capture my status for things such as prone, deaf or blind. I can't figure out what the command/syntax is to grab things from GMCP, it's not as simple as it was on mudlet for capturing my vitals and stats, and there are few resources from IRE/IRE players doing things FOR the game on the HTML5 client, most resources linked are for learning javascript from websites and other places. I'm not a good coder, and I need things explained to me like I'm 5, along with working things I can dissect.
  • The onGMCP method in a reflex package will fire whenever GMCP data is received.  http://nexus.ironrealms.com/GMCP describes the types of gmcp that you will receive.

So for example, you can have the GMCP method "Char.Afflictions.Add".  When this comes to your client, it will run the onGMCP function and set the variable args.gmcp_method to "Char.Afflictions.Add"  and args.gmcp_args to a javascript data container with the "name" value set to the affliction that you just received.  If you want to see everything sent, I'd suggest using the chrome developer tools console and using console.log(args) in your script to get an expandable view of the data being sent.  

I do wish there was more out there on how to use the nexus client, but it really is just getting started.  I'm happy to answer questions, but as I am not a normal player there are things that I do not typically do with the client.
  • ElishaElisha Imperian
    Thorim said: