Skip to content

Bardic Instruments

edited May 2013 in New Ideas
I'd like to make a suggestion that may or may not be appropriate (I know, I'm very new to be suggesting stuff, but I can't help it!). As a newbie bard, I love the idea of making my own instruments to use with my musical abilities, but I find it quite vexing that the musical songs I learn in Thespia are useless without learning the corresponding instrument crafting skill in Artistry, and an instrument crafted from Artistry does little except toggle which Thespia abilities I can use.

My suggestion is to rework the role of instruments in bardic abilities so that they do more than sit in one's inventory to gate abilities from other skillsets. Why not allow the bard to choose which instrument (or instruments) to play for a particular song, with each having a slightly different effect?

For example, why not have each ability in Thespia that currently requires a particular instrument (or two) instead just require any instrument (or two). Then the corresponding artistry skills can be adjusted as follows:

----------------------------------------------------

Mandolin
The musician's first instrument, years of practice allowing them to coax beautiful melodies from it as naturally as breathing.
Effects:
  • Reduces the cost of your Thespia abilities, and adds a very tiny mana regeneration to everyone in the room in which it is played (ally & enemy)
Varieties available for crafting:
  • Lute (reduced mana cost of songs),
  • Viola (slightly reduced equilibrium cost of beneficial songs),
  • Fiddle (slightly reduced equilibrium cost of harmful songs)

Flute
A beautifully gentle instrument whose layered vibrations carry the unending song of the wind.
Effects:
  • Extends the duration of your Thespia abilities, and has a chance to draw additional vermin or other small creatures in the room in which it is played (very infrequent chance)
  • Flute (songs last slightly longer)