Skip to content

Aspiring programmer looking for advice.

So I've dabbled in code for a couple of years and recently decided to go back to school for it.  Chances are the curriculum will consist of Java and/or Python, but I'm really interested in learning C/C++.  My question is where to start.  I've got two books, "Professional C++" and "Beginning C++ Through Game Programming."  I've been bouncing back and forth between both.  I've got no experience programming in a group, so Github is new to me.  I'm being told I should find a project there I can chip in on - that or start my own.   I'm just a little flustered over where to begin.  Any ideas?

Comments

• It really depends on what you want to do.

I'm not totally convinced that C++ is needed in the professional world all that much anymore, unless you plan on going into the financial sector.
  • MadrigalMadrigal Missouri, US
    Where I live, there aren't many programming jobs available.  The few I've seen listed require a background in C++.  I'd prefer not working anywhere near a financial sector, but I definitely wouldn't pass on the opportunity.

I love Python.  Java, not so much.  I guess what I'm wanting most is just to make myself more marketable for when I earn my degree.
  • If you ever need help with C Im here to give you a few free ... wait for it ... pointers.

I crack myself up.

But really, making yourself marketable requires an outgoing personality and great communication skills. Those are givens in any field but tech more than any due to the large amount of really socially awkward college grads coming out looking for work.

Stay away from the gimmicks, don't do Web design, attack the degree with a mind towards engineering, and don't pick a "favorite" language yet. There are a lot to explore.

Look for this year's stack overflow number crunch and polling to learn what languages are "hot" for this year. But ignore the bloated swift ranking. It's important but will drop to a normal slot soon