Skip to content

At the risk of asking a stupid question - what's the state of the game compared to 10 years ago?

I quit playing around 2006 and I'm now thinking of getting back into the game.  Obviously, I don't remember anything, so while I'm not a true newbie, I'd basically be learning everything from scratch.

Looking around though, it doesn't seem like the game is particularly vibrant nowadays.. I've never seen more than 40 people online, haven't seen any chat on either city or guild channels.  I could be completely misremembering this, but I seem to recall things being much more alive a while back.

Basically, before I invest time and money into the game, I just want to make sure the time and money will not be wasted

Thanks

Comments

• MUDs in general are almost always slowly going down in population. It's an unfortunate fact. However, I don't think it will ever be completely extinct. As a niche hobby, there's almost always someone who'll be interested in our itty bitty corner of the internet. 

With that said, Imperian is relatively balanced in combat (with outliers being toned down smartly [ie usually not with a big nerf hammer]), and roleplay is there, particularly in Sects (the new Divine Orders). For example, Stavenn transitioned from being the Empire into a Republic (Romanesque), Antioch aligned itself with the Orc Horde (who have their NPC city in Schro'vik), and Magick as a Circle is slowly becoming an actual force (rather than the perception of being the Lands of Always Non-com). 

Imperian's at a great stage right now. It's the first MUD I ever spent actual money on, and I'm glad to say I did :)
    currently tentatively active
    (may vanish for periods of time)
  • Thanks.  A couple more questions if you don't mind - what's the current state of the Assassin class? Is it still based primarily around double toxin/illusion combos?