Skip to content

Someone smack some sense into me.

So, as a beginner, I just want to get a sense for the massive scope of all this.

So, in order to be reasonably helpful in PvP (currently playing ranger), a number of scripts are required, right? Some kind of battling script, a limb break tracker, an afflictions/toxins tracker, a shield/rebounding tracker.

For toxins, lets say, in order to create a decent tracker. You're going to need all the 1st person, 2nd person and 3rd party/room messages that each toxin gives and each cure for each toxin gives and when those appear on the screen, it triggers some kind of list that shows them to you?

That seems like it'd take 100 years for a guy like me to get done.

The thing is, I'm reading all these javascript tutorials and also learning on codecademy (i'm using the online client) and I'm getting pretty decent with syntax and whatnot, but the tutorials don't list imperian specific commands and things. I found out that send_direct() will input commands into the game, but send_direct() is nowhere to be found in any of these tutorials. How am I supposed to get this info?

I know this is half question/half just complaining, and a lot of you have already been tremendously helpful, but wow. How are you ALL able to do this stuff?!

Comments

• Most of us just tinkered with it for years to get what we have. I'd suggest picking up a new client though. The two main clients are Mudlet(free) and Cmud(paid), there are plenty of people that can help with each client, and some people even have systems with all that stuff included on the forums or at the very least are willing to hand it over if asked.

• edited November 2014