Skip to content

Not original art?

This person placed in the art awards but I fail to see how.
http://www.imperian.com/artisanal/the-wild-huntress

As my comment below the picture states:

Here is the bear: http://www.tips-for-backwoods-alaska-vacations.com/images/standing-brown-bear-lg.jpg

Here is the wolf: http://www.massimorighi.com/wp-content/uploads/howling_HI.jpg

Here is how someone else used the same wolf: http://dickland.deviantart.com/art/Wolf-Howling-143267466

Didn't the rules say use your own original works or be shrubbed? How is this considered an original work of art?

This was more than a little disappointing to see, especially during an anniversary event. :(

Comments

• I haven't specifically looked into any of the images, but if there's a creative commons license, I'm not entirely sure how IRE may take that into account as far as these "collage" works go. As a photographer, I know I would be offended if somebody ripped off my stuff (as it's not under such a license) for a game's art tournament. That said, I've also reported another instance of something akin to plagiarism and didn't hear back about it.
  • Alesud said:
    but if there's a creative commons license, I'm not entirely sure how IRE may take that into account as far as these "collage" works go.
    All work submitted becomes property of IRE. Since CC is almost always share-alike attribute, even if it is CC odds are IRE owning it is a violation, therefore it cannot be submitted in the arts contest.
    I am the righteous one... 
    the claims are stated - it's the world I've created 
  • Out of curiousity, where are the rules for bardics and artisanals kept these days?

It's interesting that there is a big copyright notice on http://ertacaltinoz.deviantart.com/art/Laurana-198965621, which would seem problematic unless the artist is the same person who submitted the entry?